Skip to main content

Message from the Chair


Service. Pride. Inclusion.

As Chancellor’s Associates Chair, this is my driving philosophy. I am dedicated to focusing our efforts on service to our students, campus and community, helping to strengthen pride in the Triton family and our UC San Diego affiliation, and increasing inclusion and diversity in all that we do within Chancellor's Associates.

I am so proud to announce that to date, we have awarded more than 1,800 scholarships to Chancellor’s Associates Scholars! While our incoming Tritons will be receiving a nontraditional start to UC San Diego through the university’s enterprising Return to Learn program, we are dedicated to ensuring that Chancellor’s Associates Scholars are afforded an opportunity to thrive.

We appreciate your continued support of our scholarship program and providing critical financial assistance to our aspiring students.

Thank you for helping to empower the next generation of changemakers!

With Triton Pride,

Jerrilyn Malana ’86
Chair, Chancellor’s Associates

 Service, Pride, and Inclusion 


Chancellor's Associates Past Chairs

Sandy Timmons '81  2017-2020
Linda Masters 2015–2017
Nadine Corrigan ’78 2013–2015
Wayne Dernetz 2011–2013
Mitchell and Deborah Friedlaender, M.P.I.A. ’90 2008–2011
Sheldon Engelhorn '72 2006–2008
Alex Butterfield 2005–2006
Steve Schreiner '80 2004–2005
Richard Hertzberg 2001–2004
Darlene Shiley 1999–2001
Harold Agnew 1997–1999
William Beamer 1995–1997
Buzz Woolley, Jr. 1993–1995
Dixie Unruh 1991–1993
Murray Galinson 1988–1991
Dean Dunphy 1986–1988
George Gildred 1984–1986
Clayton Brace 1982–1984
Lawrence Cox 1979–1982
Walter Zable 1977–1979
Frank Hope, Jr. 1969–1977