A Look Back: Celebrating 40 Years of Faculty Excellence

As Chancellor’s Associates celebrates 40 years of the Faculty Excellence Awards, we take a look back at six of the more than 100 faculty members who have been honored for their contributions spanning all areas of campus.

  • Peter Gourevitch

    Peter Gourevitch

    Excellence in Research in Humanities & Social Sciences, 2005
    Professor Emeritus, Political Science

    Peter Gourevitch was founding dean of the School of International Relations and Pacific Studies and an influential force behind the establishment of The Preuss School UCSD. He also authored Politics in Hard Times, which was translated into Spanish, Italian and Chinese.

    When asked, what is the secret to a fulfilling career as an educator and researcher, Gourevitch says, “Enjoying the pursuit of ideas as you interact with colleagues, students and people outside the university.”

  • Robert N. Hamburger

    Robert N. Hamburger

    Excellence in Research in Science & Engineering, 1975
    Professor Emeritus, Pediatrics, UC San Diego School of Medicine

    Robert Hamburger was a founding assistant dean at the School of Medicine and helped organize one of the first classical music concerts at UC San Diego, which became the ArtPower! Chamber Music Series.

  • Naomi Iizuka, M.F.A. ’96

    Naomi Iizuka, M.F.A. ’96

    Excellence in Performing and Visual Arts, 2010 (first recipient)
    Professor of Theatre and Dance

    A celebrated playwright whose unique vision and multicultural worldview captivates audiences across the nation, Naomi Iizuka continues to attract top graduate students to the Theatre and Dance department.

    “When they accepted me here,” Iizuka told Triton magazine, “they said, ‘You write plays like no other plays we’ve ever seen. We are really excited by your voice.’ Innovation and experimentation are integral to the arts curriculum at UCSD. Your art can take any shape.”

  • Charles Nager, M.D. ’82

    Charles Nager, M.D. ’82

    Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, 1992
    Professor of Clinical Reproductive Medicine, Director of Urogynecology and Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery

    Named a San Diego Magazine “Top Doc” for 11 consecutive years, Charles Nager has also been named one of the nation’s Top Doctors in U.S. News & World Report. He is the current president of the American Urogynecologic Society.

    When asked what is the secret to a fulfilling career as an educator and researcher, Nager says, “Be curious, be skeptical, insist on data, and always assume there is a better way to do things.”

  • Paul Pickowicz

    Paul Pickowicz

    Excellence in Graduate Teaching, 2003
    Distinguished Professor of History and Chinese Studies

    Pickowicz helped create one of the nation’s leading graduate programs in modern and contemporary Chinese history and is the inaugural chair holder of the Endowed Chair in Modern Chinese History. The modern Chinese history program includes a mix of both Americans and students from China.

    “Some people ask why Chinese students come here, and the answer is because the intellectual climate is much more open,” Pickowicz told @UCSD magazine in 2006. “They bring their expertise back to China and have had an impact on Chinese academics. It’s a two-way street and a fantastic relationship. China is changing, it’s more open, and these students are pushing the envelope.”

  • Carol A. Padden, Ph.D. ’83

    Carol A. Padden, Ph.D. ’83

    Excellence in Community Service, 1989 (first recipient)
    Professor of Communication, Interim Vice Chancellor for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

    Padden has dedicated her career to studying sign languages around the world. In 2010, she received a MacArthur “genius grant” in recognition of her innovative and groundbreaking work.

    When asked what is the secret to a fulfilling career as an educator and researcher, Padden says, “In everything I do, I try always to make the work interesting,” said Padden. “I think of questions that take me outside what I already know and into something new and unexplored.”

Faculty Excellence Awards